Unparalleled Momentum: Announcing Liquid Music’s 2016.17 Season


We’re excited to announce the 2016.17 season of our Liquid Music Series, which is now on sale. Entering its fifth season this fall, Liquid Music expands the world of chamber music through innovative new projects and iconoclastic artists in unique presentation formats. Each program features new works, world or regional premieres, and new collaborations including many artists working together for the first time.

Projects in the 2016.17 season will include performances and premieres by Tunde Adebimpe (TV on the Radio), Sarah Kirkland Snider, Colin Stetson, David Lang, Ambrose Akinsmusire, Roomful of Teeth, Caroline Shaw, Nick Zammuto, Shara Nova (My Brightest Diamond), Pekka Kuusisto, Mariam Wallentin, Valgeir Sigurðsson, Sam Amidon, Daníel Bjarnason, Poliça, s t a r g a z e, Nathalie Joachim, Musicians of The Saint Paul  Chamber Orchestra and more.

Kate Nordstrum, Liquid Music’s curator, shared her thoughts as she announced the series’ upcoming season:

The 2016.17 announcement is, to me, a celebration. Liquid Music is entering its fifth season with unparalleled momentum because of loyal and expanding audiences, a growing and dedicated artistic network and consistent community partnerships, most notably with the Walker Art Center, all stemming from a solid home with The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. We are building projects together and the energy that emanates from this work is infectious. I am deeply in love with every Liquid Music project in the 2016.17 season and the significant artists behind them – many U.S. and world premieres, and many hard won. It is my privilege to share these projects with Twin Cities audiences, and from here, the world.

Find out more about the new season and purchase tickets at liquidmusicseries.org.

2016.17 Liquid Music Series press release